Photo: Kenya Lionesses celebrating after beating Uganda in the second leg of Elgon cup. Courtesy: Sarah Otieno.

On 8th September 2014, World Rugby announced that the number of core teams who play at every round of the series would grow from eight to eleven. A 12th team will be invited to take part at each round of the Series.

The lionesses will be seeking to be a core status team when they will take on China, Netherlands and Columbia who have already qualified for the Rio Olympics in Pool B.

Kenya Lionesses toughest pool fixture is against China who will be hoping to maintain their place on the Women’s World Rugby sevens series.

Experienced Mwamba Women RFC’s scrum half, will captain Kenya at the World rugby 7s qualifiers in Dublin, Ireland.

Action kicks off on 22nd August at the University College Dublin (UCD) and Kenya’s first match is against China.

Kenya Lionesses Squad to Dublin, Ireland for the Women’s World Rugby sevens series qualifiers:
Catherine Abilla (captain)
Camilyne Oyuayo
Doreen Remour
Celestine Masinde
Philadelphia Olando
Sinaida Aura
Janet Akello
Linet Moraa
Janet Owino
Rachael Mbogo
Sheila Chajira
Irene Atieno.


Subcribe To Our Newsletter