About Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is a men's rugby union tournament contested every four years between the top international teams.

The first Rugby World cup tournament was first held in 1987 and it was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia.

The winners are awarded the William Webb Ellis Cup, named after William Webb Ellis. It is believed that Webb Ellis invented rugby.

Past Rugby World cup Tournament winners

Year Host(s)   Final   Bronze Final  
Winner Score Runner-up 3rd place Score 4th place
1987 Australia & New Zealand New Zealand 29–9 France Wales 22–21 Australia
1991 England, France, Ireland , Scotland & Wales Australia 12–6 England New Zealand 13–6 Scotland
1995 South Africa South Africa 15–12 (aet) New Zealand France 19–9 England
1999 Wales Australia 35–12 France South Africa 22–18 New Zealand
2003 Australia England 20–17 (aet) Australia New Zealand 40–13 France
2007 France South Africa 15–6 England Argentina 34–10 France
2011 New Zealand New Zealand 8–7 France Australia 21–18 Wales
2015 England            


Subcribe To Our Newsletter